Don Pendleton's Mack Bolan

The Executioner:  Mack Bolan

In 1969, War Against the Mafia, featuring Mack Bolan, the Executioner, was published. The phenomenal success of the first novel led to thirty-seven sequels over the next twelve years. Dozens of imitators, inspired by Don Pendleton's success, arose during the 1970's to constitute a new particularly American literary genre and the term Action/Adventure coined by Pendleton himself, has since spread to encompass television and motion picture formats as well. The original thirty-eight Executioner novels have had numerous printings and been translated in more than thirty languages with in-print figures of more than 200 million copies worldwide. Pendleton franchised "Don Pendleton's Mack Bolan" to Harlequin's Gold Eagle Books in 1980, and close to 900 books based on the Executioner and spin-offs--Phoenix Force, Able Team, Stony Man, Mack Bolan, Super Bolan, have been published under their program.  At present, four new Executioner novels are published each year.

Since December 2014, Open Road Media has published ebooks of Don Pendleton's original War Against the Mafia series, Books 1-15 and 17-38.  

Together, Don and Linda Pendleton adapted and scripted The Executioner, War Against the Mafia, to Comic graphic novel format, which was published in 1993. Following Don's death, Linda adapted and scripted the second Executioner novel, Death Squad, published in 1996 by Vivid Comics.

Don Pendleton's

Copyright 2016 by Linda Pendleton. 

This site is owned by Linda Pendleton, All Rights Reserved.